What's new

Cocktail suggestions

Hello, Speakeasy noob here. :001_smile I have recently become interested in adult beverages. I'm soliciting suggestions for cocktails. I am looking for things that are tasty but which don't make me feel like a fool when I order it. Something classy, with history being a bonus. Examples:

Old Fashioned
Sazerac
Gin and Tonic

Maybe the ultimate level of coolness in simplicity is scotch neat ( or whatever you Speakeasy guys drink), but that level of whiskey appreciation is beyond me right now.

You would be hard-pressed to have listed three drink examples that were more different from each other. At the risk of generalizing in the extreme, there are three basic kinds of cocktails: Highball -- booze and a mixer (gin and tonic, rum and coke, vodka and OJ, etc). Sour -- booze mixed with lemon, lime, or sour mix (whiskey sour, margarita, etc), and Aromatics -- booze mixed with another kind of booze (Manhattan, Martini, Negroni, etc). Then there is always just straight booze, neat or on the rocks. Of course, there are gazillions of variations on these themes, but to get you started I think this is fair.

As a new drinker, maybe you should start with simple highball using a mixer that you like. These are nearly impossible for a bartender to screw up, and you'll be able to get them anywhere from a dive bar to a five star restaurant to an airplane. From there work you way up through the sours, and then when you're more comfortable try an aromatic

Last edited:
Manhattan, learn to make your own properly so you know what/ how to order, same with a properly made martini, think about a negroni....sazerac is a great drink, but depending on where you live, you may not get a bartender who knows what one is...learn your gins and whiskeys...