What's new

Black synthetic fiber brush and soap scum

I clean my razor at each blade change to get rid of soap scum.

I rarely clean my boars, only when they stiffen up.

With several months of daily usage, will brushes with black synthetic fibers stay dark or does soap scum build up and turn them gray?

Pictures would be great!

Chef455

Head Cheese Head Chef
20230727_150424.jpg
I've been using a Yaqi Synthetic Tuxedo for 4 years now. While I can't see deep into the base of the not, there has been no buildup of any nasties in the brush. No special treatment has been provided, I simply thoroughly rinse the brush, firmly shake it out into the shower and twirl it gently around a bath towel after use. I do allow a day between uses and rotate in a different brush.

Post Script-

After snapping a pic it would appear that I may lack attention to detail as there seems to be a bit of buildup right at the base of the brush where the knot meets the handle. I am confident that some warm water and love would remedy this.

Thank you Chef, that looks okay.

I was afraid the brush would scream “wash me” after a short period of use…kinda like the razor does after using Proraso for a week.
… No special treatment has been provided, I simply thoroughly rinse the brush, firmly shake it out into the shower and twirl it gently around a bath towel after use...

I just rinse the brush and flick it in the direction of the shower curtain until I don’t hear any droplets hitting it, then call it a day.

You can clean your brushes from time to time with dish detergent. There are also brush cleaning soaps like Ship-Shape sold by barber/beauty supply stores. Just do all your brushes at once.

1690560394251.png

You can clean your brushes from time to time with dish detergent. There are also brush cleaning soaps like Ship-Shape sold by barber/beauty supply stores. Just do all your brushes at once.

Thank you for the suggestion. Is the product same for natural bristle like boar, badger and horse?