What's new

beginner

• Thread starter Steve Frenswick
  • Start date
S

Steve Frenswick

Hi,

My wife bought me a shaving book for christmas - sharp practice: the real man's guide to shaving.

It has several chapters in it about the cut-throat razor, which the author says he uses all the time. I wasn't sure whether I believed this or not, until I found this site.

I guess I have a few questions on this:

1 - Where can I get the cut-throat razor and strop to begin - can anyone recommend any shops in London?

2 - Has anyone read this book and is it accurate? Are there any other ones available on this subject also?

Hope you can help - Steve

Welcome Steve,

I've been shaving with a straight for a few years, but I can't answer your specific questions so I'll just say "Hi" and welcome to the board.

There are tons of available resources though for those that want to learn.

This book isn't carried by amazon US for some reason, though amazon UK does carry it. I have no idea if the information in it is accurate, but many men still shave with a straight daily, and find it the best way to shave. Most of the guys on this site favor the old DE safety razor (like the old gillettes), though there is a devoted following here of both the traditional straight as well as the new disposable straights like the Feather Artist Club.

I don't know about places in London, but I would suggest getting this set from thewellshavedgentleman. It Comes with everything you will need to shave with a straight for a long time, and I imagine with the exchange rates being what they are, (not to mention VAT) buying this set won't be more expensive than buying a shave ready straight and strop locally.

Also instead of buying a book, I would suggest you buy Lynn Abrams DVD on straight shaving. It is a most comprehensive introduction to straight shaving. You can get it here or pick it up at classicshaving.

Welcome, from another UK based member. :smile: