What's new

Atinque store find Dubl Duck Satinedge. Can I shave with this (beginner)

I was in an antique store earlier today and picked up this razor for $15. It is the first straight razor I've bought, and I've never used one on myself. One side of the blade says "Bresduck / Dubl Duck / Solingen Germany" and the other says "Dubl Duck / Satinedge." Not sure what the handle is made out of, maybe celluloid? It is in pretty good shape, one small notch near the blade end and some green oxidation (or corrosion? Idk) around the rivets, and the blade looks very good, some small discoloration but no rust and is very sharp. Can anyone tell me anything about this particular razor? It came with a box (pictured) but I doubt it's the original since the names don't match. Can I shave with this after washing it and maybe running it over a wet stone? I'm a complete beginner so please excuse any faux pas in my questions.

Attachments

• razor 1.jpg
    razor 1.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 86
  • razor 2.jpg
    razor 2.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 87
  • razor 3.jpg
    razor 3.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 87

Legion

Staff member
Yeah you can use it. DD are good razors. That one has been rescaled at some point, but that is OK.

As the others have said, if this is your first straight you will be wanting to send it to someone with razor honing experience for its initial edge.

“Can I shave with this after washing it and maybe running it over a wet stone? I'm a complete beginner so please excuse any faux pas in my questions.”

Yup, very well once the razor has been thoroughly. Double Ducks are excellent razors, very well ground, will take a great edge and shave well.

It has been rescaled in non-Duck Celluloid scales, (pins and collars do not match) Duck scales were notorious for off gassing, so not surprising it was re-scaled.

It has very little spine wear and should clean up nicely.