What's new

Aftershave worth it? Paired with the same shaving cream.

Newbie Question. As mentioned many times previously, I am new to this game.

I don't use after shave products normally. After adopting wet shaving, I got the Nivea post shave balm and like it, but my face has been breaking out. I am thinking of switching to an aftershave oil or liquid. There is a sale on the this soap I am interested in and the sale is offered with the aftershave.

I am wondering if aftershave is just a novelty of shaving now that deaths from shaving infections are rare or nonexistent. I would primarily be using it to make the stink stay on longer, like a cologne. I think most soaps' stink last long as is so is really that much of a value add?

It won't make the "stink" stay on longer. You will be adding new "stink".

You are better picking an aftershave that works for your skin and picking it the "stink" of your choice. Aftershaves are not a novelty, they serve a purpose. Whether they work for you, is another story. Some are better than others. Some are junk.

I choose aftershave wax from RazoRock and use it with whatever soap I am using.

Use a cologne if you want a "stink" to last longer than 15-20 minutes.

If you find a soap you really like, both for its performance and its scent, then it’s usually worth getting the aftershave. You’ll get to enjoy a stronger version of its scent for two or three hours, and if the soap works well on your skin, chances are the aftershave will, too.

I like aftershaves, but don't try to match the aftershave and soap. Aftershaves such as Speick, Proraso Green or Epsilon Blue, for example, perform well with most any soap. Matching soaps and aftershaves is mostly a scheme to sell you more products than you need, IMHO.

I even like inexpensive barber shop aftershaves. My last 16 oz. bottle of Stephan Bay Rum cost me less than $6 during a sale. The scent does not linger very long, but I like it that way.