What's new

A Kamisori Chronicle

Ive been wetshaving for about 5 months. I wasn't thinking Id ever be into straights as they simply dont appeal to me aesthetically. All that changed when I saw a kamisori. Since then I started hunting the bay for something I could afford. I ended up with a used kamisori that I dont think was intended for shaving. From my amateur research, I think the kamisori I have right now is for trimming eyebrows and may very well be intended primarily for womens beauty care (on the face!).
Nevertheless, I had it honed by a well respected honemeister and yesterday took it to my face for the first time.

Today was my second shave with it. I took it a bit farther today, shaving both cheeks WTG and XTG and a bit of the mustache area. I mainly used the blade in the traditional fashion with the omote against my skin. For the few strokes I did with the ura I didnt see much of a difference though I felt better using the traditional method. I finished with an Astra in my Psycho Tech

I did find some interesting points about the shaving:

Im right handed so getting to the left side of my face with this blade is tough with a WTG pass. It was much easier to make a XTG pass, more of a WTG/XTG hybrid pass. Im guessing that this is due to the efforts at keeping only one side of the blade against my face.

My lathering technique sucks. I use MWF mostly, sometimes superlathering with TOBS Lavender. With the DE I was able to get away with lather a tad dry, not so with the kamisori. The lack of lubrication was extremely apparent. I took a pass with my DE to compare and it felt like my normal shave. The straight though needed much more slick. I made a second batch of goopy, sour cream like lather and the blade cruised through my whiskers like OJ Simpson at 35mph on the freeway, smooth and nonchalant.