What's new

Do not understand the pride associated with using a blade 5+ times

I have been using a double edge razor for a couple of years now. While I started using a DE razor when I was about 13 or so; they were mostly replaced by cartridges in the mid to late-1970s.

I don't understand why some guys think using the same blade for a week or two is great. I just don't get it.

The reason I HATED using cartridges was because I felt like the blades were usually dull.

Now that I am using double edge blades that often cost fifteen cents or less; I usually use a blade 2 or 3 times (maybe 4 tops), then switch to a new blade.

Using a blade that is starting to tug and drag makes no sense to me and brings back the horrors of using a dull cartridge.

Dunno about pride but if you can get a week or two instead of a day or two of good shaves from a blade, yay you saved some cash. If not it's no big deal, discover what makes you happy, do it.

I think it's more of a gloatig in your face expensive multi-blade cartridge companies I got two weeks worth of saves for fifthteen cents verses $5, than pride.
I could be wrong, but that's just my fifteen cents.

I run it till it tugs, then out it goes. Sometimes it is after one shave, normally after 3-4, sometimes a week or better. Every once in a while I get a magic blade that does not want to go dull.

musicman1951

three-tu-tu, three-tu-tu
Some people are cheap . . . er, frugal. There is nothing wrong with not wanting to waste money. But you're suggesting that people are using the blade beyond it's useful life (tugging and dragging) and I don't think there are a lot of shavers doing that.

It's possible some people have softer, thinner beards that don't wear blades out as quickly. Personally, I use blades that are potentially good for 7 shaves, but I change them after 4 or 5 - safer that way.