What's new

Best Strops

Hey Guys,

I just shaved off my beard with my Geneva Cutlery, and I'm happy to report not a single nick was had that day. I wish I had taken a video for you guys, but what's done is done. Now that I'm going to be shaving my entire face, rather than just lining up the beard and mustache, I'm curious as to what people think are the best strops. I have a good no-name strop I bought off of ebay, but I'm looking to acquire another one. What makes a good strop and what are good strop brands?

Best,
Danny

I'm new to this as well but maybe research some of these as they seem to be some of the highly thought of manufacturers (in no particular order):

Neil Miller
Tony Miller
Kanayama
Scruppleworks
Walkin Horse

I just ordered a Kanayama myself.

My strop is actually where I've spent the least amount of money. I've only bought one before- I only have unlimited shaving soaps/after shaves- three brushes, and five or so straights in the rotation. A good strop should last forever, so I don't think price should be too much of an issue because I'd only buy one.

And thanks David for that list! I'll check all of them out!

I have a Tony Miller and it is a beauty. Tony is an artist. I'm still new and afraid to use it. If funds are a little tight I would pick up a Star Shaving Big Daddy. This is what I'm using right now.

Not just what brand but what leather? Latigo, Kangaroo, English Bridle, Horse Hide, Cordavan? Once you pick your leather you can pick your maker.

I own three strops (maybe four, don't have enough time with the fourth yet to say) that I could use every time and be happy.

Ambrose Spanish HH (Not made anymore, Only chance of ever getting one would be a WTB in BST. I don't think many were made, it was one of his first strops if not his first strop, I heard he couldn't source the leather for any further runs.)
Dubl Duck Shell Cordovan (Not made anymore, can be found in usable condition on eBay for ~$50-100 depending on condition)