What's new

TOBS Sandalwood vs Proraso Red

Thinking about picking up a jar of TOBS Sandalwood.....but it's $18ish. Really like Proraso Red. Just stick with the Proraso, or treat myself to the TOBS?

TOBS Sandalwood is a very different interpretation than Proraso. I'm not good at describing scents, but I think TOBS can be considered spicier. Not more of a woods type smell, but spice. Proraso is more on the sweeter side of the sandalwood spectrum. Both are good, IMHO. Just very different.

Last edited:
The Proraso is much more an authentic wood scent, certainly not as complex as the TOBS. I love the Proraso and don't like Taylor. The TOBS has patchouli and some other fragrance that in my opinion take away from the sandalwood.

TOBS Sandalwood is a very different interpretation than Proraso. I'm not good at describing scents, but I think TOBS can be considered spicier. Not more of a woods type smell, but spice. Proraso is more on the sweeter side of the sandalwood spectrum. Both are good, IMHO. Just very different.

Yes- agree with this.

In my mind, there are 2 very broad categories of sandalwood: 'cologne-y', and authentic (being more woodsy or earthy scents).

TOBS is very much the former - it's deep, warm, spicey and masculine. It's more of a blended, sandalwood -'inspired' scent than a sandalwood-based scent. I'd say that T&H, D R Harris are examples of other cologne-y sandalwoods.

Proraso is a more authentic, earthy and acrid sandalwood, but with a barbershop/powdery background that gives it some sweetness. Pheonix AA is another example of an authentic sandalwood i.e. it is almost one note from top to bottom, with very minimal soapiness to take the edge off it.