What's new

Sipping/Mixing Bourbon

I have a question for the bourbon people on the forum. I am getting ready to take a vacation and want to purchase some bourbon to take with me. I am new to the bourbon world and have only tried Jim Beam and Maker's and would like to try something different. I plan on making some mixed drinks, as well as drinking it on the rocks. So I would like some suggestions on a good bourbon that would serve both purposes.

Many Bourbon, whiskey and scotch people by and large drink it straight. The reason is ice ruins the subtile nuances that make your whisky preferable to you. So what do you like? Peat or heaviness, deep rich caramel, rye, sharp raw spirits. Each whisky has its own qualities that sell to some and are disliked by others. You need to try quite a few. Bulleitt is a good sipping whiskey! I like Sam Houston because it has a lot of caramel or malt and it's not heavy handed with the rye or grain alcohol. Brooks, Bakers, knob creek, Rebecca Creek are also good choices. Sometimes the best way is to find a good pub and order several shots straight up and compare them side by side. You will find what you like. Just please do yourself a favor and skip the ice.

I second Buffalo Trace. It's my go to bourbon for sipping and mixing.

As for how to drink it? Drink it however you like. :thumbup:

I personally wasn't a big fan of Buffalo Trace, but to each their own. It may help to hear what you liked better between Beam and Makers. Makers is a wheater, and I don't care for the buttery taste/flavor I get from it. Beam white label is ok. If you liked it, you may step up and try the black label which is aged a little longer and has a fuller flavor. There are a TON of options, so try to not be afraid to try new things. A couple of my favorites to date are Eagle Rare, and then George Dickel 12 or Gentleman Jack for Tennessee Whiskeys.