What's new

First Straight Razor shave...

Well I just completed my first Straight Razor shave with my one and only straight - a new Dovo Bismarck. My technique was clumsy and awkward - the grip of the razor, use right or left hand? etc. But it went better than I thought it would. No cuts but not exactly the closest shave as I was being "so careful" I missed a few tiny areas. NO FAULT of the razor at all, the Bismarck is a beauty. I was just all thumbs, haha. However I was very pleased at no cuts and despite missing some tiny spots the shave was pretty darned close (single pass).

As far as the shave, it was Proraso Green with my one and only Simpson Berkeley brush that I've been using exclusively for 10 yrs now - face lathered.

I dried it well and stropped it carefully. This is quite a learning adventure! I've been using an ATT Kronos H1 DE for 10 years now. That's a pussycat compared to a straight - haha. But I'm excited to learn this as it's the "ultimate" form of shaving. The pinnacle of the shaving experience...

A generous splash of Clubman completed the shave.

I look forward to the next shave and learning to use this beauty efficiently. I've watched many YouTube videos on the subject and enjoy them.

IMG_1009.jpeg
IMG_1008.jpeg

Congrats on your first Straight shave! It's a real sense of thrill, adventure, and accomplishment. I think it is a good strategy to start out using both hands. It will become second nature to you before you know it. Stay focused. Your shave quality will increase with more practice. Most of all, have fun and enjoy it. Welcome to the world of Straights.

Second shave today. Went well but still awkward finding the right "grip" and technique. I watch the videos but when it's in my hand at the mirror I'm clumsy. One minor cut otherwise a close comfortable shave if you ignore a couple spots I missed lol. I'm enjoying the challenge of learning it though.