What's new

What's special about the "1940's" Superspeeds?

I'm thinking about picking up a Superspeed on eBay. I've heard numerous people say the 1940's are better than the later model. Why specifically is that? What is the cutoff date for the superior ones? Is there any way to tell by looking at them since many eBay auctions do not list the date?

I am rather new to this but are the 40's SS's not identified by the _lack_ of a conical TTO knob?

(in the pic below; the top one would be a newer SS the lower a 40's if my impression holds true)
proxy.php

I'm thoroughly confused about the Superspeeds now.

Someone on SMF told me that "1940's Superspeeds" actually refers to those sold through the 1950's.

Also, what is the difference between the ones with the silver knobs versus the colored knobs?

The reviews section on this page pictures the 'coneless' version that I believe to be the '40s ss'.
You can view at:
http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php?t=4913

It lists the date of manufacture at 1948-50 noting a nearly identical unit was in production in 1947.

I have one; not sure of the year but it does have a notched center bar; but haven't had chace to use it just yet. Still perfecting my shave with a Tech before I try others.

OK, first of all, you need to read the sticky post at the top of this forum:

http://www.badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php?t=1303

Go read it now, look over the photos, and come back. I'll wait right here.

Really. Go.

OK, welcome back.

As you now know, there are two types of SuperSpeeds: the "40's style," which was actually made from 1947 to 1953 (47 through 49 or 50 lack a date code stamped on the bottom of the head), and the "50's Style," which was made starting in 1953 or 1954 and then throughout the 50's to I don't know when.

The handles are different, of course, but for the purposes of shaving, we don't really care about this. Instead, we care about the shape of the shaving head, and the way it holds the blade.