What's new

Mainstream aftershaves...

I notice that the mainstream aftershaves made by the major perfume houses such as Boss, CK, Lacoste, Aramis, Hugo Bos, etc, etc are not often discussed here.

Why not? Is it that they are just alcohol with a fragrance and actually do very little in the way of skin care?

Maybe because they are fairly expensive for what you get. Cheaper drugstore options like Aqua Velva or Old Spice smell nice too and work equally well but are far less expensive.

I'm no expert, but I believe what those companies produce are colognes and not aftershaves. Though Aramis does have an AS. I'm not big on colognes and therefore don't frequent that forum, but if you check over there some of these might get some talk time. And if not, you could start a thread or three.

Again no expert, but AS's generally have a lesser amount of a different kind of alcohol than colognes and most have glycerin, aloe or some other skin conditioning properties added. I love that moist feeling my face gets after a splash of AS; colognes don't offer this and in fact I don't think it's even recommended you splash them on your face.

These are my thoughts on the subject.

Why not? Is it that they are just alcohol with a fragrance and actually do very little in the way of skin care?

IMHO, you've hit the nail on the head. I sometimes use Davidoff's Cool Water AS or a Burberry postshave "emulsion" (it's a scented cream, but i'm sure it has alcohol in it), but pretty rarely. Although they smell nice, the skincare aspect of them is relatively nill. I'd rather stick with the Musgo or Proraso splashes, or something like Old Spice.

I used Davidoff's Cool Water A/S once (since it was a gift). The scent was accurate but provided no skin toning or beneficial properties whatsoever. Even though I only used a very small amount it burned for hours.

The next day it went into the trash.

Great, thanks for all the replies.

Silly question coming up, though.....