What's new

Face Lathering with Cream?

Well, as embarrassing as it is to admit, today I bought what I thought was a cake of shaving soap, but found out when I got home it was a tub of cream. I generally face lather with soap. I've never used a cream before.

I have a mug, but it's got a puck of soap that's pretty well stuck to the bottom so it's either get a bowl or something, or figure out how to face lather with cream. I really don't want to return it because I have it now. I might as well try it. Any suggestions?

One way to face lather with a cream is to soak your brush, drip or wring it dry and then spread out the brush, place some cream in the center (in the breech) and face lather. Add drops of water to the breech as needed

That's pretty much all there is to it.

Another method I would suggest trying is to wet brush with hot water, then give it a couple good shakes. I find that if I don't, I drip all over the place when I face lather, which makes the wife angry. I then swirl in the cream, and then circular motions about the face. It will NOT be the consistency you like the first time, but you keep the hot water on and occasionally run the brush under real quick, and then continue lathering. It might take a little longer, but I find is a little cleaner in the end.

Good luck in finding a method that works for you. When you do, don't be afraid to post your successful technique. It might help another newb lurking the boards!

Jeremy

Instead of putting cream on the brush itself, I always put the cream on my face with my fingers. No real reason for that, just a habit. After that I just start building the lather with a fully soaked brush (no shaking, no dripping). I keep on lathering for a minute or two after which a nice lather is formed on my face. Contrary to what most guys will tell you, I think it is better to 'overload' your brush with water, then to add more water along the way when making lather. As always, YMMMV.