What's new

Where to buy a safety razor in San Francisco, CA

I'm a newbie buying first safety razor. I know tons of places to get one online but it would be nice to walk in to a store and hold different razors to get a feel for them. I am considering a merkur hd or a merkur 38c. It would helpful to see how the different weights and handles feel.

Where can I get a merkur HD in the san francisco bay area? San francisco, Oakland, Berkeley??? For those of you wetshavers in the area...

V

VR6ofpain

I would look at knife stores (i.e. pocket knives and the like). There was a small knife shop in the mall where I used to live (smaller town) that carried a variety of Merkur razors, along with some straights. They even had Col. Conk soaps and a few brushes. Their prices were a few dollars more than you would pay online, but there was no shipping to factor in and you could physically touch the item before purchase.

Rick welcome to the DE wetshaving community. Both razors you are considering are an excellent choice.

+1 on Grant's Tobacconists on Market at Sansome. They also have Col. Conk soaps.

Not that you asked, but if you are new to wet shaving, I have also found some sources for soaps and creams in SF (at least when I went).

I don't own a car, so my range of travel is fairly limited to Financial District (work), Mission (home), Hayes Valley, Castro and Noe Valley. That said:

- Art of Shaving in Westfield Mall.
- L'Occitane and Crabtree & Evelyn in Embarcadero Center 2.
- The Body Shop on California at Front.
- Nancy Boy on Hayes between Gough and Franklin.
- The Humidor on Battery at Sacramento has Muehle-Pinsel.
- Caswell-Massey on Sutter at Stockton has Caswell-Massey (of course), Proraso and Musgo Real.
- Neiman Marcus on Geary at Grant has Zirh and Kiehl's.
- Bare Necessities on Castro at Market has Baxter of California.
- Common Scents on 24th St. at Sanchez has Omega.
- Lehr's on Church at 28th St. has Speick and Tabac.