What's new

What's the best Swedish Straight Razor Maker?

I was on an auction site this morning and snagged a C.W. Dahlgren frame back, at least I think it's a frame back. I'm new to straight razor acquisition disorder, otherwise I'd know all about it.... I have DE RAD under control, but SRAD has me. Luckily I stole this razor for really cheap! I'm just curious, what are some other well respected Swedish makers to keep an eye open for? I don't know much about frame back razors, was it a functional design or was it for looks? Thanks

Matt

You should get a lot of great answers on this. People love that Swedish Steel. I think the frame back was to achieve that hollow grind with out actually grinding. You'll have to post some pictures when you get it!

There are a few Swedish makers that you will see pop up here more often than others.

C.V. Heljestrand
E.A. Berg
Edv. Niestrom
Klas Tornblom

One's the pop up that you'll see less often are:

Helburg
Dahlgren
Jernbolaget

There are quite a few of them out there, this is not all inclusive of a list, and I am far from an expert. For the most part, they are all quality blades. Arne, [MENTION=85745]Polarbeard[/MENTION] would be the person to ask on the subject of swedish steel. I'm sure he'll be by shortly. I love hearing the stories behind these razors.

$image.jpg$image.jpg
Photos from that site I got it from, I'm really excited to clean her up and send her off for a honing! It almost looks like there is some writing or a name on the frame back?

Last edited:
Matt, look at the photo in my profile, you will find examples of both of your razors. They should clean up nicely, the pitting on the CVH will remain, but not be as noticeable. On the frame back it is common to have a name on the razor as well as the tang and many times along the frame of the frame back. :thumbup:
I can only hope mine will clean up as well as your razors have! Those are gorgeous pieces of steel!