What's new

WHAT do you think about this SR for a newbie?

I have zero experience with the brand, so I really can't answer your question other than to say that my personal inclination would be to stick with a more well known manufacturer, i.e. Dovo, TI, Revisor, Aust. The picture looks nice, but it doesn't tell me anything about the quality of the steel. The major players are at least more of a known value =)

If you're wanting to see what all this straight razor jazz is all about why not check out The Whipped Dog http://www.whippeddog.com/
Larry will set you up with some decent kit, and won't empty your wallet.

Hi Warhawk,
maybe I am too timid, but I am very wary about razors that show no engravings or stamps around the tang area - this might be fine or it might be made in Pakistan and rebranded...

Even the seller states that it is not shave-ready - again this may mean that they are just honest, but it might also mean that it never will be ...

For that amount of money I think I'd look at other offers.

br,
ToM

David

B&B’s Champion Corn Shucker
If you're just wanting to test the water and see if it's something you're going to enjoy I think the best deal out there is here https://www.panjo.com/buy/shave-rea...and-travel-strop-free-honing-12-months-306515 (Mods hope that's ok to link to a Panjo listing).
He includes a year of free honing. I always tell guys if you like straight shaving you can upgrade to a better razor from somewhere like the superior shave and use the gold dollar to practice honing on.

If you're just wanting to test the water and see if it's something you're going to enjoy I think the best deal out there is here https://www.panjo.com/buy/shave-rea...and-travel-strop-free-honing-12-months-306515 (Mods hope that's ok to link to a Panjo listing).
He includes a year of free honing. I always tell guys if you like straight shaving you can upgrade to a better razor from somewhere like the superior shave and use the gold dollar to practice honing on.