What's new

affordable stright razors

I am new to shaving with a stright razor and I am looking for for some affordable ones I am currently shaving with a Thiers Issard 5/8 hollow ground and love it dose anyone have any suggestions on what else is out there that is good quality and not gonna break the bank and what dose everyone think about the current razor should I have started with something else.

That was my first SR. my second I bought a used square point hart steel off eBay at a good price. (50% cost)
I wanted to try a square point and a heavier grind.
Many also chat up Portland razor. Their basic is about 120. Can't speak to a comparison. There is a wait to get it, Mine is almost ready.

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
I find the stright razors to be much cheaper than the straight razors. They really make you pay through the nose for that "A".

Try a good and shave ready one from some knowledgeable member. Shouldn't set you back too much and it will work as good as anything.

If you are looking for new, you have to go a long way to beat a razor set up by Jarrrod at The Superior Shave. He sells only good quality products and stands behind every sale. A Boker King Kutter for $125.00 is a fine piece of equipment that there is small doubt you would fall in love with.

Last edited:
Give us a ball park $$, and we'll give you more suggestions than you'll ever find helpful. Or perhaps help us narrow your search. You have a new blade already. Want to try a vintage? Or perhaps a different grind, modern or vintage. Bigger, smaller, etc.

I have read great things about vintage razors and would love to own one I would like to go a little bigger but being a beginner what is the easiest to shave with open to suggestions really don't want to spend over $200 for the razor

I would suggest any razor by genco/geneva. You can't go wrong if the hone wear is ok.