What's new

Razorock HMW Surprise

f $IMG_5220.jpg

I think I just found my new best value in shaving equipment. This is the Razorock HMW Silvertip. I was amazed and surprised at the bloom. Compare it to the size of the SV tin. Sorry I'm not very good with pictures, this is the first time I tried to attach a picture. The brush is soft, splays nicely, is reasonably dense with nice quality silver tip, and generates and releases lather well due to the way the knot blooms. I would recommend this brush more for bowl and scuttle users. For face latherers, I would recommend his chubby due to the combination of density and loft. However, this brush is a really nice value and currently at $39 bucks is a steal. I lost a few hairs the first use but not since. The handle is a comfortable solid black resin Barber Shop style handle and is the same as his synthetic brush. Overall I would say that I have spent more in the past and did not get this value.

What other brushes have you used that you would say are better/worse both in performance and value?

What other brushes have you used that you would say are better/worse both in performance and value?

Thats a tough one. I have around 25 brushes. Eight boars, 3 synthetics, and the balance of various badgers. Of the badgers, I have a couple Kents of which my favorite is the BLK 8, Simpsons a T3 and Chubby 2. several customs, Da Vinci 290 and 293, the Razorock HMW and the chubby made by Zenith, and a couple of cheaper Frank Shaving brushes. In the price range of the Razorock HMW at $39, I haven't seen a better value. Also his chubby made by Zenith at $59 is great. I really like most of my brushes, but I really like the the Razorock HMW and wish I would have saved a few hundred dollars on some of the other brushes I have purchased.

I am very familiar with the Da Vinci and Zenith brushes and they are very consistent. How does the density, backbone and tip softness compare?