What's new

Need Help Question about Shoulderless Razors - Brand New Dovo Bismarck 6/8"

Hi all,

I have been shaving with straights for just a few months and so far is been a great experience, this weekend I bought this beautiful Dovo Bismarck and it arrived on Monday. Yesterday night I was inspecting the new razor and notice that there is what it seems like a small bent around the heal. It is visible and I can feel it too, this is my first Shoulder-less straight so I am not sure if this is normal on a razor. I feel bad asking the vendor to replace it in particular because I am not sure if it is just me being paranoiac :blink: about every detail on a new razor, it is a very small detail and feel to it. Please let me know what you think.

1. Is this normal on a Shoulder-less Straight Razor? or even just for razors as a whole? or I am just asking for too much?
  2. Should I ask for a new razor from the vendor or just keep it and live with it?

I have talked to the vendor, and he just said that razors are not perfect, that part of owning a razor is living with small details like this, that this razors are made by hand so they can't be perfect. Please see the pictures bellow, It is super hard to take a picture of this since I have to play with the light to capture it. Please give your comments as soon as possible since I want to shave with this blade as soon as possible :biggrin1:

$Dovo Bismarck.jpg
$Dovo Bismarck 3.jpg

Attachments

• $Dovo Bismarck 2.jpg
    $Dovo Bismarck 2.jpg
    35.4 KB · Views: 223
I have the same Bismark and what you have is NOT normal. If you paid retail price for it, you should send it back immediately for a new one or a refund. They are not defective because they assembled by hand. They come out of a machine driven forge. The blades should be near perfect. A legit vendor wouldn't have sold it to you as a new razor. If you got a special bargain due to the defect, it might not affect the shave.

Last edited: