What's new

First Time Honing a Near Wedge

This was my first honing of a near wedge. At first it was frustrating because I thought I could evenly wear the upper hone line and the blade edge. As I continued on I began to notice some lines where it appeared that it had been hone before but the lines where way up from the bottom and way down from the top on the blade surface. I did not use tape as I had read that it was better in the long run to take the extra time. Once I got over the fact that this was going to take time, and I got brave on removing steel good things began to happen. I was beginning to feel the blade edge getting sharper. I continued to progress through my stones and it happened I had an edge that would pass the HHT. I still need to make a set of scales before I can shave with it. So since this is my first attempt at a near wedge any comments to learn from are welcome.

$photo 1.jpg$photo 2.jpg

I have a few near wedges and only one is badly out of sync with the spine. a little age and you wont notice it. the thing is you have to decide do I want a razor or a display piece, I use mine so the choice was made when they came in the door. I like usability as opposed to looks, sometimes you get both , rarely. nice razor enjoy it.

They are a pain to hone for sure.

I use a single layer of tape 99% of the time, makes things easier.

Be very careful making scales for a shave ready razor, very, very easy to slice something. I find honing a western straight very difficult sans scales.

You're gonna have one helluva shaver if you can manage to hit the last 1/4" by the heel on the show side.

As Sebastian noted - you might consider using x-strokes. Seems you've been going head-on thus far.

Thanks for the great advice, x-strokes will be used and I will try to get the part by the heel, I will send pictures after I try that technique,