What's new

Good everyday cigar?

I'm relatively new to cigar smoking. A couple years ago I got into cigars and was smoking pretty regularly but ended up stopping for a while until recently. Now I'm looking for a good cigar for around $2 for a daily go to, but I'm afraid to just go out and buy a bunch of potentially garbage stogies. Anyone have any suggestions on a medium bodied cigar in that price range?

From my experience, you're shooting a bit low for a brand-name quality cigar for $2.
However, most god cigar stores have no-name, discount sticks for that price -- they're usually either true, no-name-cheapies made with inferior filler, or "seconds" from good brands. Some are awful. But some are surprisingly good.

If you expand your price to $4-5/each, you'll have some good options from good names. For instance, the Punch Champion is a great inexpensive smoke.

From my experience, you're shooting a bit low for a brand-name quality cigar for $2...

If you expand your price to $4-5/each, you'll have some good options from good names...
+1. Try a Fuente Chateau in all three wrappers (natural, maduro and sun grown) and/or a Fuente 8-5-8 in its three variations (natural, maduro and claro).

Agree, at that price point, you're looking at either junk or seconds. I will buy some seconds by the bundle, and keep it in the ballpark of your price point, but I have to agree, you are a little low for a brick & mortar shop. You almost have to mail order at that price, and who knows what will happen to mail order after the FDA gets done.

+1. Try a Fuente Chateau in all three wrappers (natural, maduro and sun grown) and/or a Fuente 8-5-8 in its three variations (natural, maduro and claro).
I actually just bought a fuente chateau yesterday. Haven't tried it yet, but it looks pretty promising.

I actually just bought a fuente chateau yesterday. Haven't tried it yet, but it looks pretty promising.