What's new

Need a new barbell

I've been using the barbell that came with the plates for 10 yrs. It's done well but is falling apart. I'm thinking about a Rogue Power Bar. Any other suggestions?

I bought a 300 lb (with Olympic bar) set at Academy back in 2006. It still looks great. But i have them set in carpet squares in the garage, so the weights didn't get rust or anything.

I've been using the barbell that came with the plates for 10 yrs. It's done well but is falling apart. I'm thinking about a Rogue Power Bar. Any other suggestions?

I would go Ivanko , it has been good to me over the years. Very foregiven on extra wight days. http://www.amazon.com/Ivanko-Black-Oxide-Olympic-Bar/dp/B00551XB96
proxy.php

What are you going to do with it? if you are weightlifting or doing powercleans and crossfitty type stuff, the Rogue is a good choice. The Ivankos are too stiff for weightlifting (and by that i mean performing the snatch and c&j) where you actually want the bar to have bit of flex. I had one and ended up selling it.

Now if you are powerlifiting, then the Ivanko is a solid choice.

What are you going to do with it? if you are weightlifting or doing powercleans and crossfitty type stuff, the Rogue is a good choice. The Ivankos are too stiff for weightlifting (and by that i mean performing the snatch and c&j) where you actually want the bar to have bit of flex. I had one and ended up selling it.

Now if you are powerlifiting, then the Ivanko is a solid choice.

Squats, DL, overhead and bench press probably cover 90% of what I do with a barbell. Power cleans are as close as I get to oly lifting. The Rogue bar felt like a good general purpose bar and the lifetime warranty is never bad. My son and his friend will also use the bar.

The Ivanko is a little more than I was planning to spend but not out of the question. The Texas Power Bar also gets a lot of love.