What's new

Opposite Fat Toe/Heel

Hi guys!

So, I am relatively new to straight shaving, and razor honing. I have a lot of experience honing Chef's/Kitchen knives, but this is a bit of a different animal, with the spine dictating the angle.

I have purchased 3 straights (all Dovos), so far...may be a disorder. 2 of the 3 arrived with factory edges, which had even hairline bevels on both sides. Neither was tree topping arm hair well, but shaved arm hair fine. I test shaved them with decent results, then honed on Naniwas (1K, 5K, 8K, 12K). They both tree topped arm hair, and shaved better afterward; less irritation, smoother movement ATG, etc.

The third one arrived "professionally" honed (not sure if I can say where I purchased from, but it is a well known vendor here). I inspected it when it arrived. The bevel was wasn't wavy, but it was slightly fat on the toe of one side, and fatter on the heel of the other. The heel also looks to extend more, like a slight hump. It also has scuffs on the stabilizer. It did arrive sharper than the others, though, and was tree topping hair easily. It shaved well, too.

I assume this fat heal/toe issue is an issue with the spine, but would love some confirmation. Also, any advice on technique for rectifying this (cosmetic?) issue would be greatly appreciated, too!

Attachments

• $photo 1.JPG
    $photo 1.JPG
    111.7 KB · Views: 47
  • $photo 2.JPG
    $photo 2.JPG
    81.1 KB · Views: 47