What's new

I am new to soaps. What are the 5 must have soaps in your opinion.

I've used a wide variety of creams but never soaps. What are the 5 essential soaps pucks that every shaver should have in their den? Also, what is the best way to store those pucks?

Last edited:
Pick any 5 of these:

Barrister & Mann
Haslinger Schafmilch (specifically the Schafmilch formulation)
Mike's
Panna Crema
Petal Pusher Fancies
Razorock
Stirling
Strop Shoppe
Tabac

Proraso or Cella
Arko
Barrister & Mann Cheshire
Mitchell's Wool Fat
Trumpers Coconut

And it should NOT have taken this long for someone to mention Trumpers Coconut.

I would continue with everyone above's suggestion of Mitchell's Wool Fat. You will read that people will have issues making lather with it sometimes but I would say it is a great soap, low scent but still pleasant smelling. I have a ton of Tcheon Fung Sing/Razorock and if we are talking hard soap, check out Bergamot Neroli a.k.a. Don Marco, which is like orange creamsicle. If you do find the scent pleasant, I also agree from above with Tabac. It has been a while since I have used it but I enjoy the smell, remember not using a ton of product and having great results with it. Give the Edwin Jagger line a look and then you could do the soft soap or cream in a tub. I have the Sea Buckthorn in soft soap and hard soap but also liked the Limes and Pomegranate, Aloe Vera, and Cooling Menthol. If you wanna get an English brand like Taylor of Old Bond, Truefitt and Hill, Geo F Trumper, or Dr Harris, I would say go hard soap via the D.R. Harris route and do Windsor or Arlington.

Are you open to soft soaps?

Barrister & Mann
Haslinger Schafmilch
Mitchell's wool fat
DR Harris
Mikes

With honorable mentions to
Petal pusher fancies
Stirling
Cella
Arko