What's new

Pit Stains

I've been plagued by pit stains for as long as I've been using deodorant (my older brothers forced me at about 10 or 11 years old). I had tried pretty much all the deodorant/Antiperspirants on the deodorant aisle. I used the Crystal stick for a while when I was 13-14 and it seemed to help a bit. Upon seeing a few threads mentioning issues with antiperspirants, I decided to narrow my search to a deodorant with NO AP. I found Old Spice Classic deodorant. Shortly after beginning use. I ditched ALL my old undershirts, and bought 2 packs of new ones. I've been using the OS exclusively for 2 months now, and have not noticed a SINGLE SWEAT STAIN on ANY of my undershirts!!

That's empirical enough for me!

At the same time, I also bought a stick of Stetson (no AP) at Bed Bath and Beyond, and I LOVE the scent, but it BURRRRNNNNSSS going on, so I don't use that much.

My thinking was that living in New Orleans and having no a/c in my car, I'm gonna sweat whether or not there's an antiperspirant in my deodorant.

There are two causes of these stains. First, aluminum-based antiperspirants are acidic and contain compounds that can contribute to staining. In addition, sweat has trace amounts of urea (also found in urine), and this can contribute to the dyeing of fabrics. In general, a white shirt may take on a yellowish color, and dark clothes may become lighter.Try using antiperspirants after showering in the morning and before going to bed to decrease your total sweat production. Antiperspirants work better if you do not sweat after applying. Another option is to consider getting Botox injections in your armpits. This can dramatically reduce sweating in most patients. If the yellow stains are really bothering you, stick with deodorants that have no aluminum chloride in them. Deodorants serve only to mask the odor, but will not reduce sweat production like an antiperspirant.

Silly humans... always trying to outsmart nature.