What's new

Newbie brush question

Hello all, this is my first post so hopefully I picked the right forum. I'm looking into getting into wet shaving, but don't have a lot of extra money to buy everything all at once. So, I figured I'd buy a brush first since I'm about to run out of shaving gel. I'm looking at a boar brush because they are cheaper than badger and people do seem to like them. I've been looking at the Semogue 830 and 620. I don't know if I plan on face lathering or using a bowl but I do know that I would like to try both techniques. So, is one of these brushes better for a complete newbie than the other? Thanks for your time and I look forward to your responses.
dan

Brushes really come down to a matter of preference. I like boars a lot. A Semogue Owner's Club brush would be a great one. But there are lots of fans of badger brushes- Simpsons are very popular, for instance.

Welcome! I used boar brushes for a couple of years when I got back into wetshaving and I liked them. Then I got an inexpensive Parker badger brush from Amazon and I liked it even more. Badgers tend to be softer and hold more water. However, I still use and like my two boars for hard soaps. Start with the boars for now-there is absolutely nothing wrong with them.

I went with the 620 for my first brush and it's REALLY great! It's just a bit smaller than the 830 but I find it a much better fit for my face since I only face lather.

I'd say go for either the B&B Essential Boar or the Semogue 830 – they both have a similar loft suited to either bowl or face lathering.

The Semogue Owners Club is a good all-rounder too, but it costs twice as much as the aforementioned brushes.

It's a matter of personal preference,really. A good brush will be able to do both types of lathering.I use all of my brushes (6 boar,two badger) for both.