What's new

First attempt with a slant. It's AMAZING!

I've been using the same DE razor for several months now; an Edwin Jagger DE89BA11 Barley. It's a nice razor, and I love the chrome. But I hadn't tried any other DEs, yet. I've been curious about the Merkur slants, so I ordered one. I picked up a "blemished" Merkur 37G, the same as the 37C, but with gold plating, at ShavePlace.com (look in the seconds and closeouts section) at a good price. There's nothing visibly wrong with the razor, that I can find. Though it doesn't have any stamping or numbering under the razor head, it does say Merkur and have their logo on the handle. This morning was my very first attempt using this slant razor. I popped in a new Feather blade, lathered up, and off I went. (Be careful with blade alignment, as you load and tighten the razor. I noticed it had some wiggle room, so just be sure the blade is loaded straight.)

The first swipe just blew me away. Absolutely. Positively. BLEW me away! It's super-smooth! My DE89 never felt this good. I did my first three passes, and they were all very smooth. That slicing action that the slanted head brings really is nice! I did need to pay a bit of attention to the angle at which I held the razor, but it seemed to be a bit more forgiving than my DE89, amazingly. Of course, there were a couple of little nicks, as I learned I needed to be a little careful going ATG. I also found that I needed lighter pressure, compared with my DE89, especially ATG. But, overall, I'd say it was, by far, the nicest shave I've had with a DE. Not so much in terms of BBS or not, since I can usually achieve BBS with my DE89. But in terms of how smooth the blade glides over my face, how nice the razor feels as it shaves, forgiveness, etc.