What's new

Something a little different: CD&B in mora with a floating dovetail wedge

So, Hillbilly sends me this incredible, enormous smiling wedge by a maker I was previously unfamiliar with: Corsan Denton & Burdekin, Sheffield.

It's an insanely cool looking wedge. I told Savalis I would put some cool looking scales on it for him, and he left it to my discretion. In fact, I was supposed to ship it back to him first so he could be surprised before posting these pics, but he's apparently as impatient as I am, cause now he wants to see pics.

Anyway, this one was a challenge because the blades tang is asymmetrically ground. Pretty badly actually, so it required some funky shimming with washers to get it to close straight. It's still not perfect either.

Anyway, on to the scales. The wood is Mora - I love it for the heavy grain and chocolate brown color. The wedge is a non-wedge. Since I'm a woodworker hobbyist, I love jointery, so I decided to do two floating dovetails instead of a wedge and pin. The dovetails are through dovetails, and they serve as the wedge at the same time, so there's a neat gap there at the toe end of the scales. The dovetails are maple for contrast. There are three "jimps" as well in the top of the scales. They're there mostly for aesthetic reasons - I just liked the way it looked.

The CDB had an enormous hole in the tang already, so I was able to use a knife pivot stainless torx fastener setup for it rather than a traditional pin. The heads are counter sunk just slightly.

So there you have it. I want to rub out the finish a little more (french polish style shellac) and play with the centering some to see if I can get it better, but otherwise it's done.

Without further adieu:

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

I hope you all enjoy it. Some day I'm going to own that blade... That is, if I can convince Savalis to sell it to me.

Jeff

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member