What's new

Watch Accuracy

Hey all. It's been about 6 months that I got an Omega Seamaster 300M to adorn my wrist. Since then it has almost become a part of me, the times I do forget to put it on or have it off for some reason I feel somehow incomplete.

During the first month I had this watch, it ran really fast, something like +10 sec a day (fast for cosc not really fast out of that context). I was a bit disappointed but decided that I would patiently wait for it to settle down some more. Through the months I have seen it become really accurate, somewhere to the tune of +/-3 seconds a day. I say +/- 3 seconds because it depends wholly on what I do with the watch during the night.

If it has been running fast during the day (which it does) then lay it face down for the night. If it is lagging (which happens when I overcompensate by having the watch face-down every night) then leave it face up. So 2 nights face down and 1 night face up seems to result in a pretty good balance. Currently I am +2.5 seconds for 7 days. Granted the watch is a living thing and the methods of keeping it accurate have to be monitored.

I'm sorry if this post comes off as pompous or arrogant, the truth is I really love my watch and hope that everyone else enjoy theirs whatever the make, size or accuracy.

I'd like to hear what your watches run in at and what you do to keep them running at least somewhat close to spec.

Legion

Staff member
My SMP runs within 5 seconds a day. I leave it face up each night.

I've had it for about six years, never had it serviced. It is as accurate as when new, so I don't want to monkey with that.

I've got a Seiko Black Monster that used to run fast. I very gingerly regulated with the internal adjustment which did improve it, and now I regulate it the same way as CK does--face down, face up, etc. I just try to keep it close to the clock on my computer at work.