What's new

Regulating Seiko 4r36 Monster

I have been wearing a 2nd Gen Seiko Monster daily for about 8 years. It ran about 20 seconds slow per day for a few years. That gap grew to about 30 seconds for a long time. I just reset it as needed. A month or so ago, it started running 3 minutes per day fast. That was unacceptable. One week ago today, I set out to regulate the 4r36 movement. I downloaded a timegrapher app. I regulated the watch using the app. Today made 7 days since I regulated and set the watch. After 7 days, the watch is running 42 seconds slow. That's 42 seconds it lost in a week...Much better than even when new.

My 2nd gen Seiko Monster runs about the same (20 seconds slow per day) if I recall. Which was disappointing after coming back from an unrelated service by Seiko USA. I have not tried to regulate it, and have been somewhat disappointed in my other watches with affordable Seiko movements.

From what I have read, if your watch is suddenly running fast it may be magnetized. I ordered a cheap demagnetizer online and it has arrived but I have not tried it yet. I think I magnetized one or two of my watches with a big brain move of using neodymium magnet torpedo level to check the thickness of a couple of watch casebacks. The second watch felt slimmer on the wrist and I wanted to see if that caused by the strap or bracelet or something else. And the level was close at hand so I used it without thinking to compare with another watch.

I wasn't really disappointed with the initial accuracy of my watch. I just set it as needed and figured it was the norm for an inexpensive mechanical watch. I have worn the watch daily for 8 years and have subjected it to quite a bit of bone numbing or jarring abuse. In all honesty, I am impressed it has held up.

@ColtRevolver Was adjust the time all you did? How did the watch look inside once you got the case back off?

How did the seal look?