What's new

Newbie Questions Regarding Wedge/Near Wedge razors

I have a few embarrassingly newbie questions about wedge ground razors. I have been shaving for a few weeks with my full hollow beginners razor and have been doing some window shopping online. There are quite a few very nice looking wedge razors, but I figured I'd ask my questions here.

1) Do Wedge razors require different shave techniques / blade angle than the hollow grind razors?

2) Do Wedge type razors hold an edge longer/shorter than a hollow ground one?

3) Does the stropping technique on leather or balsa paste strops change depending on the grind?

I believe wedges are much more difficult to hone and maintain sharpness. And, near wedges, while easier, are also considerably more difficult to hone and maintain sharpness in many instances.

I doubt anyone will disagree with me on wedges. About near wedges, there will be difference of opinion. And, in a way, I disagree with myself! I have had many near wedges that honed easily, and were not a problem to maintain sharpness.

An aside...

I have noticed that razors from the 1800s are harder to hone and maintain sharpness than razors made from, say 1900 or 1910 and after. While I know nothing of the metallurgy, it would be natural to expect metals to improve with time, just as many other manufactured items improve. While I haven't studied the metal characteristics of razors from different periods, simply honing many razors from all time periods, I observe a marked difference based on time of manufacture.

Back to near wedges (and wedges)...

I have noticed that the near wedges that don't seem to give me problems with honing and edge maintenance are the razors manufactured more recently. My theory is that the metal is better than near wedges made before 1900, and so give me less trouble.

But, here's the kicker! Wedges and near wedges dropped out of popularity in more recent times. So, these grind razors are more rare than other grinds.