What's new

All about bengall's

Hi, I'm new to this so i'll start by saying i live in Australia and collect all the Cadman familys razors, mainly BENGALL'S. If anybody has any good info please let me know, cheers.

Thanks guys, and cheers for your time Luc i had a look at some of your resto's nice work mate. Im mainly looking for the rarer info on all the cadmans and there affiliations, eg who's the cadman in colquhoun+cadman. also i'm finding it hard to get any info on David Cadmans "SENEGAL" brand which was granted in 1758, ten years after his brother Luke was granted "BENGALL". Any info would help allot, thanks all.

Legion

Staff member
I'm not going to be much help on the history, but I have honed close to a dozen now. They have all been great shavers. Probably gets my vote for most underrated razor. Consistently good grind and steel, but they are not widely available in the US and a bit boring to look at, so they fly under the radar. Good luck with your research. Let us know what you come up with.

Thanks Legion, Ive accually heard what u said quite allot in other forums and through my research, ive only heard good things about the quality of the metal used, So im glad you have backed that up in your post, funny how you stated they fly under the radar, do you think thats because most collectors are american or European and T. R. Cadman exported most of his razors to Aus, Ind, ect and therefore are harder to come by in the states?. As an example when i walk in to an antique shop and they have a razor id expect it to be a Bengall because they are so common down in Aus. out of my collection which is only around 100 razors id say 45 % are Bengall's and 80 % of my razors were brought from my area, ie markets, antique stores ect. I agree totally they are an excellent razor and very underated but that will change in time.

Legion

Staff member