What's new

Surry/VDH Large Knot Mod and Restore - The Process with Pictures

Hey everyone! This is my latest project, and I'm really pleased with it. I hope you enjoy!

Recently I picked up at a craft fair what was determined to likely be a Surry/VDH brush in this thread I posted about it. It was in pretty nice shape, knot and all. But it was an inexpensive average boar in what I feel is a really classy handle. I studied it and an idea came to me. I've always wanted a large knot brush, and this handle had lots of room for expansion. I decided to go for it.

EDIT: Yesterday I saw a new VDH brush shaped like this one in the store. My brush here is not a new VDH. The plastic handle of the new VDH brush feels much lighter and is much more cheaply made, with big obvious casting seams and no weight. My brush here then is almost certainly an older Surry.

A large knot modification and restore. Here's how it went with pictures!

Here is a picture of the brush as it was when I got it:
proxy.php

As I said, good shape. I almost didn't want to cut that boar knot off. But I went for it, and as I did I found that only the outer layers of hair were dyed to look banded. I'm not sure if this is normal, but it made it feel like a cheaper knot so I stopped caring.

Got it all cut off and began the drilling process. I don't have a press or forstner bits, so I used my drill, stepping up the bit progressively larger to get that out. Pretty quick I started getting into some icky stuff. It was like rubber cement, and it was goopy. Probably melting from friction. Well long story short, I got all the guts out, and used Goo Gone on my bits and the inside of the handle to clean all that crap off.

Interesting thing was there was some other plastic inside. Something that looked like a cap. No idea what it was. Also that rubber cement goo was deeper in the handle. It was hypothesized that this handle may have been drilled and filled a little for weight in the other thread. Maybe!

proxy.php