What's new

Changing tastes.

I'm still very new to the fragrance world but already I've noticed some differences in my tastes. My very first AS and cologne was English Leather then came Old Spice and Brut the classic introduction scents found almost anywhere. As I try more scents and ones that are a bit more expensive I find that the English Leather really seems harsh to my nose now. I've always loved it as my grandfather wore it. I put some on yesterday and had to wash it off after an hour. I swear it was burning my nose.

I still have a great love for the Old Spice but the Brut is starting to lose appeal I still basically like it but long for something a bit more refined. I've had a few suggestions given to me in other threads but have yet to be able to try or purchase any. Unfortunately money is a big factor for me as I'm on a limited income.

I have found a few casual scents that I liked at the mall perfume shop.Tabac being the first I tried after all the talk here about it and it was inexpensive I love it. Tommy Bahama is a nice spicy but mild scent thats nice on me. The wife bought me Hugo XY which I think will be good over the summer it's very fresh with a hint of pear. I also picked up Burberry Brit it's got a real soothing appeal to me I think it's the Tonka bean it's sweet and smooth.

I'm thinking of doing a blind buy of Agua Brava they don't have a sampler at the store but I've read some things about it that lead me to think I'll like it. Anyone having any incite to it would be nice.

This is a bad hobby for me money wise but I'm enjoying it. I ware it strictly for myself I have PTSD and I find the scents calming as I do the whole wet shaving experience.

Last edited:
On a budget or not, your best bet is to order samples. A quick search should show you some good places to get samples. TPC, Lucky Scent, Mudassir, etc.