What's new

The Thin Blue Smoke Thread III- BBQ 2011

Our third year with this thread! Can you believe it?

BBQI & BBQII

Post your BBQ and grilled successes! Got a low and slow question? post away. Gassers post at your own risk!

So WHATS COOKIN'?

Well here we go, I am just starting to learn bbq. I got a Weber Performer charcoal grill. I put it together, according to the instructions. The problem is the gas tube has a gap of open air between nozzle and and burner tube. I am quite worried to use it. I have included a pic. I called Weber, and the CSR looked at the display model in their office and said it was normal. Does anyone have experience with this?

Well here we go, I am just starting to learn bbq. I got a Weber Performer charcoal grill. I put it together, according to the instructions. The problem is the gas tube has a gap of open air between nozzle and and burner tube. I am quite worried to use it. I have included a pic. I called Weber, and the CSR looked at the display model in their office and said it was normal. Does anyone have experience with this?

It should be normal, Propane is like gasoline and needs oxygen to burn correctly. So my uneducated in these things assumption is that the notch allows the correct amount of oxygen to mix with the propane before it is burned at the tip. I am sure some chemists/welders may pipe in with a thorough explanation.

Michael

The gas comes out of a small nozzle at relativel high pressure/velocity and creates a vacuum inside the larger tube that pulls in the right amount of air.

Just pulled a 6 lb pork shoulder out of the freezer to smoke on New Year's Day. Gotta fire up the flowerpot smoker and maker sure it's still working tomorrow. :D

Learned a lot of tips/recipes from the Barbeque Pit Boys youtube channel that I want to take into the New Year with me.

http://www.youtube.com/user/BarbecueWeb