What's new

Grey beard hairs

I have the impression that in my greying beard, that the grey hairs are tougher, stiffer than my black ones.

What think you fellow -"salt and pepper" beard owners?

S.

Definitely true. No question about it. Shaving gets more difficult the more you get gray hairs in your beard.

Head hair that is gray also has a different texture than hair with your old color; it tends to be stiffer and less amenable to brushing/combing, etc.

Yup, that's because the grey hairs have been around much longer. Ya, they are older and tougher than those young black hairs.:biggrin1:

Well, I know my grey scalp hairs are certainly less "well behaved", but since I don't shave there, I wondered about how difficult they would be to cut.

I am a newbie here and have not yet read the entirety of this huge resource, but I have read somewhere that short hairs have greater tensile strength or some similar quality than copper wire of the same diameter. Something like that anyway.

Can you imagine cutting a beard composed of tiny copper wires sticking out of your face?

True - Also, I read somewhere that grey hair is the result of a hydrogen peroxide issue within your body (?) Can't recall if it's your system making too much of it or not enough...all I know is pouring some on my beard didn't make the hair go black again. :frown:

I have the impression that in my greying beard, that the grey hairs are tougher, stiffer than my black ones.

Yeah, they're tougher.

wow..but what happens when gray beomes white?..softer..so I hear

Not softer. Tougher. See above.

The good news is that as you age, your face becomes much less sensitive. I can commit all kinds of shaving sins today that in my 20's and 30's would have resulted in debilitating razor burn. I guess the shave gods are somewhat more tolerant and merciful as you get older.

-- John Gehman