What's new

newbie :Soap or cream ?

Hi

I'm getting my first Safety razor tomorrow .

As i am totally new to wet shaving , i was wondering :

what is exactly the difference between using a soap OR using a cream ?

I was getting a proraso soap , but now i szz they also sell proraso cream.

As a newbie , is it wise to get the soap / cream ? or is it personal ?

I probably get them both , and smell-feel for myself .

Thx!

Personally I'd get the soap if you want Proraso. Its a very soft soap, tends to be cheaper, and will last longer. Check out the help section and read making great lather with soaps.

Mostly personal and what your face reacts to. Start off with the basics, Proraso cream, Tabac soap and some Speick and venture off from there. It will get you a good idea of what you want to look for in future products. And it will convince you that the most expensive isn't always the best. Have fun and enjoy!:w00t:

Creams tend to be a bit easier to lather for new shavers, but beyond that it is really just a personal preference.

Proraso soap is odd. More like cream, really. If you try it, don't judge soaps by it. Besides that, there's glycerin-only soaps, and oil/fat soaps, and you should eventually try both. Agree with the other posts on the rest.

And welcome to B&B.

My first soap was tabac,and I also tried mama bears which is a glycerin base I believe. I get good lather from tabac,to me mama bears is a little tougher I'm new as well and I'm still working on my soap, water ratio. But tabac smells good and feels good when shaving. Mama bear is good but like I said I'm personal having issues with it others don't. Mama bears is cheap to and smells wonderful. I have dragons blood.

Just gotta discover that for yourself. I went with the creams first and discovered my skin prefers the tallow soaps better.

As a newbie try VDH which is available at many discount stores like Wal Mart. LOw cost investment with easy lathering.