What's new

What do you look for in a $30-ish strop?

I'm new to the straight razor game but have been heavily involved with knives for a bit and have made hundreds of strops. Every time I send out a knife I try to include a packable paddle strop (typically a 2.5"x6" piece of leather) and have made a whole lot of every size of paddle strop. I prefer latigo due to its price and performance (not to mention availability).

Anyway, I have made about 3 dozen hanging and paddle strops specifically for straight razors that I've given away to friends who are getting into straight razor shaving and other gifts. I have just done a D-ring on either end with 3 chicago screws or rivets to secure. I have looked at doing cotton webbing along with the leather, just haven't walked across the street to the fabric store to pick some up...

Now to my point. I bought a bunch of latigo recently and one particular side looked exceptional for straight razor strops so I cut up the entire side so I wouldn't be tempted to use it for anything else. Now I have leather cut for probably 50 strops ranging from 2-3" in 80" or so sections. I typically include strops with orders but most likely won't have anything going out for quite a while so I'd like to sell as many of the strops as possible but want to make sure they are priced appropriately.

So, what would you guys expect out of a latigo strop in the $30 range? It seems, after reading through many threads in the strops forum, that most people prefer a barber style strop or one with a d-ring as opposed to a handle. Do you think there would be an interest in paddle strops or does everybody typically go with a hanging strop? Personally I like paddle strops but that's just me, and that's what I'm used to using for polishing knife bevels.

Any input would be greatly appreciated, thanks guys!

Last edited: