What's new

Tonscrial Gem v.Tonsorial Gem

It's an antique store acquisition. A Tonscrial Gem straight razor. Yes, I double, triple, quadruple etc. - checked. It's not a typo or a misspell. It IS printed that way on the show side shank. I even double-checked with my 10x Belomo - it IS 'scr' not 'sor'. There's one on Etsy that looks like mine, but it's the 'sor' variety.

What's the story with these names? Is one a clone of the original? which one is the "right" one?

Befuddled,:001_huh:
Rico

Hi Seraphim,

I already bought it.
I'm just wondering why seemingly the same razor apparently has two different (albeit similar) names.
Tonscrial Gem and Tonsorial Gem.
Mine is Tonscrial while another one online that looks like mine is named Tonsorial.
What I'm trying to figure out is what's the difference.

Rico:001_unsur

$IMG_0233.jpg$IMG_0234.jpg$IMG_0235.jpg$IMG_0236.jpg$IMG_0237.jpg

I'm no expert, but it doesn't look like a bad press of the 'O' to me. the only letter worn is the 'M' in 'GEM' cause it's close to the pivot point. Now on the show side of the tang is another question. The patent date is obscured by a stamp of 'T.N.' over it. But back to the name - the 'TONSCRIAL' looks like a clear stamp to me.

The only thing I notice is that the font used is a serif font.
TONSORIAL
TONSCRIAL

as an example. The 'C' carries a serif on the top where the 'O' won't. It the letters were individually stamped in, I could see the O stamp leaning to the left and not leaving a whole impression. Either way, it's a nice find!

The only thing I notice is that the font used is a serif font.
TONSORIAL
TONSCRIAL

as an example. The 'C' carries a serif on the top where the 'O' won't. It the letters were individually stamped in, I could see the O stamp leaning to the left and not leaving a whole impression. Either way, it's a nice find!