What's new

The DIY shoe restoration ( big pics)

Hello fellow B&Ber’s I’m Dave. I’m new to wet shaving so can’t contribute much to the discussion in that regard, however I know a thing or two about shoe care and I see there are a few Saphir fans here and being inspired by this thread and this one I thought I’d throw together a quick DIY restoration and care tutorial to contribute to the haberdashery.

These are my two year old pair of Cole Haan Air Dempsey. It was time for them to get a good cleaning plus I wanted to make them a darker brown. I ordered all the stuff to do that and in the meantime the rains came and they got soaked, so after letting them dry thoroughly this is what they looked like.

$beforetop.jpg
$beforeside2.jpg

And here is what we’ll be using to make them look good again:
$saphir.jpg
Now I’m not going to bore you with pictures of me scrubbing my shoes but I’ll do my best to describe the process and products used to get the end result. All the products I use are made by Saphir with the exception of the brushes. Saphir has two lines of products, basic and MDO. I use the basic stuff as the MDO is considerably more expensive and I can’t imagine it works that much better.

Step one is Renomat, this is your cleaner/wax stripper, before use I suggest a good brushing with your shoe shine brush to remove any lose surface crude. Shake well and pour 2oz or so into a old bowl you don’t use anymore. This stuff produces a good bit of fumes so use it in a well ventilated area unless of course that’s how you party.