What's new

The Abridged History of Mooncalf

I started on this adventure a couple months ago, and am loving every minute. I've established my base rig (to which I return after every new adventure), and have been experimenting with new soaps/creams of late.

My first DE shave...

Weishi 9306-F razor
Dorco ST-300 blades
Wilkinson Sword Pure Bristle (boar) brush
J.M. Fraser's shaving cream (original lime scent)

All I can say is WOW... Where has this stuff been all my life?

Here is some history. I had been shaving with an electric shaver for the previous 10 years before it promptly died one morning. Strangely I was still holding on to my old Mach3 (which I learned on), so out it came. That same morning I remembered why I went to an electric shaver in the first place... It wasn't because the shave was any good, but at least I avoided most of the irritation and bumps.

Well, to put a long story short I very quickly decided I wasn't happy, and began searching for something better. Unable to continue with my Mach3, I began looking through my old Christmas stocking stash - you know, the stuff you smiled and accepted graciously, then secretly and unceremoniously abandoned in a drawer somewhere. What would I find, but some Personna single blade disposable razors.

The Personna's changed my world irrevocably. When I first saw them, I believe I wondered not so secretly why my in-laws would be so cheap they didn't even spring for double bladed disposables. Well I'm now quite glad they made that choice, and wonder if fate was at work. First shave with the Personnas... brilliant. Not the closest shave I've ever had, but my face felt smooth and calm. Almost no irritation, and the razor bumps vanished a few days into the new routine. In the coming weeks I was blown away at how easy and comfortable it was to shave with a single blade.