What's new

Sharp enough?!?!

Hi guys... I hope someone can help me out...
Here's the back-story:
I'm fairly new to str8 shaving (2 months) and started with Kai blades in a shavette. I acquired a vintage str8 "shave-ready" and tried to shave..... it was not very sharp at all.
So I sent it out to be honed.... When i got it back, it didn't really pass the HHT ( it would cut half way through, but not "pop" it). My honemeister said he took it up to Shapton 30K. The first shave with it recently re-honed was... well... underwhelming. At his advice, I did not strop it for this shave. Second shave: better (after 40 passes linen/20 leather). Third shave.... underwhelming again. It just would not cut the hairs on my chin; this is where my stubble is thickest and coarsest. There was no way those whiskers were coming off with 3 passes... more like 8 or 9.
So I guess I've got two questions... Is this razor actually sharp enough? Or, have SE blades given me an unrealistic concept of what sharp is?
Sure would appreciate any input.....

Well, either both people who honed the straight for you did a bad job, or it's you. Given that you are new to using straights and that there is a learning curve, my guess is that it is you.

Chances are that if you have to ask, it probably isn't.

That was my first thought...but being noob, there is a great deal of uncertainty. I really did expect performance comparable to the Kai I've been using; this was not even close.
Then there is stropping technique, which may be good, more likely poor, though it did help with the second shave. By the third, I may have done the edge in myself, thought I don't think so.

IIRC, edges didn't last as long when I was learning as they do now. So it is possible yours needs a touch up.

If it pulls when you shave your upper lip wtg then it isn't shave ready in my book.

Does the blade have significant hone wear or uneven hone wear?