What's new

Rinsing razor with cold water

Saw this new youtube thing about rinsing you razor with cold water and the benefits thereof. I tried it today, but as a noob I cannot really comment on it.
Technically I struggle to see the benefits............. maybe colder steel (blade) might be stiffer I suppose.

Have you tried this?

(sorry while typing I realize I have not searched the forum for if this has been discussed before. apologies)

Cold water all the way for me, everything, I even use ice water (water with ice) in my soaking mug, bowl and water mister to spray as much as I can, cold water from the tap.

The cold water, in general, imho, I like better as it just gives me a better shave, I got use to it. In the beginning I had "sensitive skin" so I used it to help with irritation, I still do use cold water, everything, shave feels closer later after your shave once your skin goes back to room my temperature, this is my experience.

Rinsing with cold water is just to keep everything cold. As far as the razor benefits, that I have no idea about honestly.

Do whatever you feel is right, many threads about cold water vs hot water but I personally do and enjoy the cold water shave.

Hot weather here. I prefer the pleasant feeling of hot water on my face but it leaves my skin too soft. The results are better with cold water. I use a straight razor without getting it wet at any time and if I use DE, I run it through cold water as well.

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
YouTube.
Everybody has an angle for clicks.
If someone put up a YouTube video of a guy shaving with peanut butter and a weedwhacker, a bunch of folks would comment how wonderful their shaves were with peanut butter and a weedwhacker.

YouTube.
Everybody has an angle for clicks.
If someone put up a YouTube video of a guy shaving with peanut butter and a weedwhacker, a bunch of folks would comment how wonderful their shaves were with peanut butter and a weedwhacker.