What's new

Review - Monteverde Invincia - Medium Nib

I want to preface this by saying I know my review won't be as good or in depth as Bob's, he kinda showed us all up with that one, but I will do my best as I am still a FP noob and only have like 5 of them. So my wife got me a nice Monteverde Invincia for my birthday. She paid about $50 with taxes, dang California.

$ImageUploadedByTapatalk1421112100.871020.jpg

First impression from the packaging was good, hefty box made with faux leather. The pen sits on a "pillow" with a compartment underneath for the converter and a blue and black standard cartridge.

$ImageUploadedByTapatalk1421112214.251172.jpg

$ImageUploadedByTapatalk1421112234.437390.jpg

The pen itself is nice, this is the "carbon fiber" finish, it's a black and gunmetal checker pattern. Very smooth finish on the barrel and no sign of flaking or chipping that plagued my other Monteverde. Even after a month of pocket use it still looks like I just took it out of the package, no scratches or wear. The pen comes in at 1.4 oz capped/posted and 1oz even no cap.

$ImageUploadedByTapatalk1421112395.493471.jpg

The nib is a medium in the American style, a true medium line. It is made from iridium and writes very smoothly. It puts down a nice thick line with no skips or stutters. It always starts even after a week or so of no use. I've used both the cartridge and the converter with Parker Quink and Noodler's Air-Corp Blue Black. It isn't the "smoothest" pen I have, it has a bit of feedback that I don't mind, not scratchy at all, just a bit stiff. I can't really compare it to much but the Pilot VP is SMOOTH, this pen is not as smooth as that but close.

Pros - price point is low for a nice "suit" pen. Nib is smooth with a bit of feedback. Good weight and length for my medium sized hands. Converter holds a good amount of ink. Starts after a good time of no use. No skips or stutters.