What's new

Replacement for stollen pen

I am sooo mad right now. SOmeone stole my FP at work Thursday. WHat makes it worse is, I am a teacher so that means a kid stole it. The one time I don't put it back in my shirt pocket.

:mad3:

The one that disappeared was my Lamy Studio. I will be getting another but I need to also land a Jinhao I think. I need some advice first. I have searched for a general description of what to expect with the jinhao quality control. Is it a crap shoot like so many things from China? Can I switch out the nibs, or will the nib be fine?

Whoa. Edit time seems to have decreased, or time flies when you are looking at pens.

After reading and searching I am either getting 2 Pilot metropolitan pens, or two Jinhao 159. Based on your experience, since I won't be able to try either of these before buying, has the smoother fine sized nib?

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
Pilot 78g ... $10 shipped, with converter ... if (ie when) one of those darlings lifts the next one, the damage will be bearable (financially ... your lost faith in the future of mankind will be present regardless of the price of the pen.)

I would highly recommend a jinhao x750. You can find them on the bay for $3.00. The one I have is a great pen and worth ten times the price. Would I buy 10? Yes, next time I place an order I will be buying in quantity. $30 is too cheap not to have an assortment and backups at work, car home plus a few for friends and Christmas gifts.

Watch Massdrop for the Metros or get your 78G's. They are nearly the same pen. 78Gg is easier on my hand but YMMV.

Staples and other stores will occasionally have killer deals on the Metros as well.