What's new

Pu-ehr tea newbie with questions

Hello tea drinkers:

I've been a longtime coffee drinker who used to roast his own beans, co-owned a coffee house and until recently, enjoyed great coffee. However, in the end it seemed to agitate my gall bladder. I'd always enjoyed the occasional cup of tea, but coffee took the front seat.

I have given up coffee and instead have fallen fast and furiously for Pu-ehr teas. I'm a consumate newbie in this realm, but I want to learn and grow in my Pu-ehr tea consumption. I've purchased both raw and ripe Pu-ehr teas to date and after trying raw and brewing gong fu style in a gaiwan, I found I preferred the smoothness of ripe/cooked Pu-ehr teas (the raw in the first handful of infusions were unpleasantly strong for me at 100ml volumes). While in no way am I offended by the smell of the small number of ripe Pu-ehr teas I've tried (the three dominant smells the exhibit IMO are tobacco, leather and seaweed), I don't find the smell exquisite. I'm a visual person and aesthetically I much prefer the beautiful relatively intact leaves found in raw Pu-ehr vs. the more broken down appearance of cooked Pu-ehr.

I've switched back and have spent more time with some raw Pu-ehr teas I have and found by smelling the brew alone I'm able to determine with good accuracy, how much additional hot water I want to add in order to make even the first infusions perfect for my taste. Akin maybe to adding a splash of water to whiskey. The extra water I add is not a lot, but it seems to make a huge difference for me. As such, I think at least for now I'm going to focus on raw Pu-ehrs.

Questions:

• Can anyone suggest some reputable places to purchase Pu-ehr from?
  • I've seen inconclusive info regarding whether or not Yixing pots have measurable levels of lead in the clay or can at least some Yixing pots be regarded more or less conclusively as having no harmful lead levels?