What's new

Nicks and burn!

OK, so I found some Proraso in a tub and some Gillette platinum blades last night and gave them a try this morning. I seem to do fine on most of my face, but my neck, particularly on the right side of my face, is a mess...lots of little nicks and razor burn. Any suggestions?

I am new at this but I will take a stab.

Assuming you shave with your right hand, could it be possible that you are applying too much pressure on the right side of your face? Shave with just the weight of the blade, aiming for beard reduction, not elimination in a single stroke. Then make another pass until you reach your desired beard length.

I've personally had bad luck with the Gilette Platinum blades, they give me terrible razor burn and slash me up to boot. But I've had good luck with the Proraso. I personally find Israeli personna's to be most gentle and forgiving. If you'd like to try to couple shoot me a PM.

Bob Loblaw said:
I am new at this but I will take a stab.

Assuming you shave with your right hand, could it be possible that you are applying too much pressure on the right side of your face? Shave with just the weight of the blade, aiming for beard reduction, not elimination in a single stroke. Then make another pass until you reach your desired beard length.

Bob,
You're really chiming in with some good insight right off the back. I never thought of that, but I experience the exact same thing. I think you're right, it's much easier for me to put more pressure on the right side of my face with my right hand (I'm right handed), that's probably why I get more razor burn and nicks on that side. Bob, again, I'm impressed. Great thinking. :thumbup:

I'm stuck with the Gillettes for at least the next week and a half as I'm traveling at the moment. When I get back I'll do a sample pack to get a better idea of what works best for me.