What's new

New to the Nib, First pen on the way.

Hello gents. Well the restraint is on, and I am currently bound to not buy anything for myself. Luckily for me, I was able to make some pre GRU purchases and top off's. One of those purchases was a noodlers ahab medium nib fountain pen, and a bottle of B&B noodlers ink. I've never tried a fountain pen before, and currently use a pilot G2 .7mm. My handwriting is utter chicken scratch, but I have been interested in improving my penmanship, as well as trying out a fountain pen, for some months. So please feel free to give me any noob tips, resources, or examples I should follow. Thanks guys!

Welcome to the Nib! The Ahab is not something that I'd normally recommend as a first fountain pen to somebody starting out. It may be just fine out of the box, or it may need a lot of tweaking. I'm sure you'll get opinions from others as well. Just remember, if you do have problems with it, it's not necessarily you, and there are other good fountain pens for not too much money.

Or the Ahab may be fine for you. If I recall, it comes with instructions on how to adjust and maintain it. It has a flex nib, which lets you change the line width by pressing down a little, but at first I suggest just writing normally, with a very light touch..

I have had far fewer problems with my Noodler's Nib Creaper than with the Ahab. The Konrad is also supposed to be more friendly than the Ahab.

I love how my Ahab looks, and how it writes (flex nib or Goulet replacement nib). I don't care for the false starts/etc (I took out the breather tube), and yesterday the darn thing leaked a little inside the cap.

Thanks for the warm welcome from all. I am starting to worry a bit about my choice of pens here. Hopefully the Ahab works out ok. If not I may have to replace it come June. (after the restraint of course) I am expecting to get it by Friday or Monday. At least I will be able to get me feet wet.