What's new

New to strictly DE, have a few blade & razor questions.

Sorry for the long post, but I'm new to this...

I have always been into fine wet shaving with various cartridge razor handles, brushes, creams, soaps, etc. but have recently made the switch to strictly DE shaving. I dabbled in the past with an old Gillette black handle butterfly but was scared to make a full switch due to sensitive skin and a crazy grain pattern below the jaw line.

After receiving a Microtouch One with ST300's for Christmas I checked out some YouTube videos about it (and DE shaving in general) and got hooked. I have had really good success with the Microtouch & ST300's since Christmas so I decided to try a few different higher end razors and ordered a sample pack of blades. I went with the Merkur Futur and a Parker 48R. I absolutely loved the few shaves with the Futur and the Merkur blade it came with (although I did suffer a nick or two which I didn't with the MT1 & ST300's). However, I had a major problem with the 48R. I used it with a Feather blade I have only heard great things about, but what ensued was a bloodbath below the jaw line. Nothing from my routine changed as far as prep and technique but this razor and blade set up killed me. I did make sure the blade looked straight and thought I was holding the razor at the proper angle but it does have a much steeper head than the MT1 and Gillette butterflies I was using.

Questions are... Is the Feather a bit too much blade for a noob DE shaver and may there be other to potentially avoid? Could it have been the 48R? It does (at least in my opinion) look a lot more aggressive due to the angle of the head, blade gap, etc. than my others so maybe I just need to develop a little better technique before trying a razor that aggressive?

Any tips will help, thank you... glad to be part of B&B!!!

Welcome to B&B!